Conference starts in ...

X

ABSTRACT

Roundtable Chatroom is designed to maximize the opportunity for researchers and practitioners in Robotics and ML to meet and chat with each other. This idea is inspired by the social events (back in the physical conference era), where a table of participants has a discussion on a specific topic for some time before moving to the next table for a discussion of another topic. By the end of the event, people will have engaged in multiple interesting conversations and some valuable friendships will have begun. 

We want to reproduce a similar experience online using Zoom’s breakout room feature to simulate different ‘roundtables’. To elevate the experience and ensure quality of discussion, we have also invited a list of mentors, who will host the discussion of various topics. The topics we will discuss at IROS 2021 include:

  • Future of electric vehicles
  • Investor’s take on robotics
  • Role of conference
  • Ethics in the Automation Age

Come to join our event on Friday Oct 1, 2021 at 13:30 – 15:00 CET / 12:30 – 14:00 BST / 7:30 – 9:00 EDT / 19:30 – 21:00 CST.  

Please sign-up to join our event here.

HOW DOES IT WORK? 

Our event consists of two sessions. 

The 1.5 hour is guided discussion, where we offer discussion of 4 different topics for participants to engage one after another in a small group (around 6-10 people). Each discussion will be hosted by a mentor, who deeply cares about the topic and has great experience / expertise of the topic. Each discussion will last for 15-20 min. 

The last half an hour is free discussion, where we randomly shuffle the group every 10 min and reduce the group size to around 3-5 people per group. There’s no constraint on the topics of discussion and we hope this can offer an opportunity for us to “meet” each other and enjoy some interesting conversations! 

ORGANISERS

Ronnie Clark, Post-doctoral research fellow at Imperial College London 
Shuyu Lin, PhD student at University of Oxford
Alinna Chen, Software engineer in finance
Daniel Lenton, PhD student at Dyson Robotics Lab, Imperial College London 
Beverly Chan, UX designer  

THUMBNAIL

SIGNUP LINK

Participant: https://forms.gle/7UbGKvEdzLivYXqm6 

WEBSITE LINK

https://www.roundtable-chatroom.com/ 

Copyright © 2020 GUARANT International spol. s r.o. All rights reserved. Powered by APPTIDE.